Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)

Mockingjay is the third book in The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. [Here are my reviews of the other two books.]

After the dramatic ending of the last Hunger Games, Katniss wakes up in the rebels’ headquarters in District 13. She discovers that Peeta did not make it there – he was captured by President Snow and the Capitol. But with Katniss are Gale and her family – who made it out of District 12 right before it was completely obliterated – and a few other Hunger Game victors. While Katniss tries to make sense of the new world order around her, the rebels try to convince her that she should become the Mockingjay: the official symbol of the rebellion.

Mockingjay is still a very good read, though it’s definitely the weakest of the three books. The ending just didn’t feel that satisfying to me and I got a little impatient with the book and not in the “I just can’t wait to see what happens” way, more like in the “oh, come on” way.


Continue reading


Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins)

Catching Fire is the second book in The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. [Here’s my review of The Hunger Games.]

Plot: [With SPOILERS for The Hunger Games]
With the way the Hunger Games ended Katniss has definitely upset the system. So before she, Peeta and their entourage travel from district to district on their victory tour, Katniss gets a visit from President Snow. He lets her know without a doubt that rebellion of any kind on her part will not be tolerated – and that she has to make this clear to the districts as well, where unrest is brewing. Since it’s not only Katniss’ life that he threatens, but also that of her family and friends, Katniss complies as well as she can. And then the rug is completely pulled from under her when she and Peeta are drawn back into the 75 year special edition of the Games.

Catching Fire is not as good as The Hunger Games, but only by a slight margin. I again completely fell into the book and enjoyed it a lot.

Continue reading

The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)

The Hunger Games is the first book in The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

The USA don’t exist anymore. In its place are 12 districts and the Capitol that has the districts under its thumb. Katniss Everdeen lives in district 12, where at 16 she’s basically taking care of her mother and sister Prim and has been ever since her father died four years ago. Which means that she breaks the laws daily to go hunting with her best friend Gale. But Katniss’ life changes radically when the kids for the Hunger Games of that year are reaped. In the Hunger Games every year 24 kids, 2 more or less randomly chosen from each districts, are pitted against each other in a battle to the death until only one remains standing. And in this year 12-year-old Prim is chosen. In desperation Katniss volunteers to take Prim’s place. And so Katniss travels to the Capitol together with Peeta the baker’s son – to certain death for at least one of them.

The Hunger Games is an absolutely addictive read. Seriously, I just blazed through it. It made me read until 4am (despite having to work the next day) because I just needed to know what happened next. I can’t remember the last time this happened to me. I even shed a tear or two.

Continue reading